White Horse and Griffin Whitby

The Hotel is one of the most iconic and charismatic properties on the old East side of Whitby. Built in 1681 by Sir Hugh Cholmley, the White Horse & Griffin was the first Coaching Inn from Whitby to York and London. It was operated as an Inn until 1939.

It was also used as a meeting place for explorers Captain James Cook and William Scoresby who hired and fixed their crews from the building. The White Horse & Griffin closed in 1939 on the day of the Battle of the River Plate (the first major Naval Battle of the Second Wold War). Having fallen into dereliction in post War years, when it was predominantly used as storage for local fisherman’s nets and pots, the building was acquired and extended by local builder Stewart Perkins in 1982.

The sympathetic restoration process he put in place took 11 years to complete and has created a remarkably authentic period atmosphere and ambience throughout the extensive accommodation.