Adventure! Endurance! Extraordinary Seamanship! Survival against the odds!
The story begins at the handsome 17th century harbourside house now the Captain Cook Memorial Museum. This is where the great explorer, James Cook, came to serve his apprenticeship in Whitby in the year 1746. It belonged to Cook’s master, the Quaker ship owner, Captain John Walker. When the young Cook was not at sea, he lodged here in the attic with Walker’s ‘other family’ of apprentices. Cook’s voyages were the 18th century equivalent of today’s missions to Mars. For ten years Cook and his crews explored the unknown, uncharted waters of the Pacific, the South Atlantic, and the Arctic Oceans. Danger was ever present. The thought-provoking collection of original paintings and drawings, letters in Cook’s own hand, ship models, maps and fascinating objects gathered on the voyages illustrate the Cook story.
Open Daily until 1 April 10.30 – 1500. 2 April – 31 October, 0945 – 1700
Last admission half an hour before closing. Open Mon, Tue and Saturdays in November.